DEN Book Club

I decided this summer to participate in the DEN book club. The book I read was “Wikinomics: How Mass Collaboration Changes Everything”. At first I wondered how this book could be any help to educators; however after reading the book I began to understand the concept of collaboration. According to the authors Wikinomics is the future of business, it is a movement that is taking place right now and creating a whole new look on how businesses can be successful for the future.

But how does this affect teachers and education? I believe the book does a great job in explaining that the new ideas of Wikinomics; “openness, peering, sharing and acting globally can be integrated into all areas of society”(pg.20). Websites such as MIT’s opencourseware (http://ocw.mit.edu/index.htm) are examples of openness and sharing in education. On another note, closer to home, this blog is an example of sharing and peering. I would never have started a blog, but after reading about Discovery Education and its network I realized that blogging could become a integral part of my growth in teaching. The book has spurred me to research new ways to collaborate among my colleagues and globally. It has also made me understand that my students are part of Wikinomics, they are part of the “Net Gen”.

Overall I’ve decided that to try and keep up with my students I would try to use Web 2.0 tools to grab their interest. So I begin my journey this school year by learning these tools and using them in my teaching to enhance my lessons and grab my student’s attention.

About rippie77

Science Teacher at Cardinal Gibbons High School, Raleigh NC.

Posted on July 27, 2010, in Discovery. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

