Workshop on Discovery Website

Our school is finally setting up the Discovery site for teachers. I have been working with the administration to get our teachers involved with the site. I hosted a brief informational meeting on what the Discovery site has to offer teachers. The response has been very positive. Hopefully the word will get out among the staff and we will see an increase in Teacher usage.

I recently used the Science Assessment Manager and found it to be very helpful. My students were having trouble with the Earth-Moon-Sun movements. For example, they had a hard time understanding the Seasons and Moon phases. After giving them the assessment, I reviewed those areas they showed a weakness. The assessment manager has features that are very helpful when trying to pinpoint those “muddy” points. The recommendations came in handy when reviewing their mistakes. Overall I presented my results to my colleagues and showed them how the assessment could be used for any subject.  It is a wonderful tool and I intend on using it again as a pre-assessment and post-assessment.

Thanks Discovery!

About rippie77

Science Teacher at Cardinal Gibbons High School, Raleigh NC.

Posted on January 20, 2011, in Discovery. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

