Spring “Fling”

The title is a little deceiving. Yes spring is here, but a “fling” well yeah in a way. Today the NC Science Festival started, so yes maybe a spring fling.

Festivities are kicking off all over NC to start this two week long event. You can find details at the NC Science Festival. Some of the events listed are really interesting and I promoted this event in my classroom newsletter. I’ll be heading to the Forces of Nature Family Learning Lab, this really looks good especially since we are heading into the meteorology unit.

“Experience the adventure on-screen and off in this family program that brings you face to face with the forces of nature. See the film and put your knowledge and skills to work as you track hurricanes, clock your wind speed, outrun a tornado, and save Bob…”

 

Nature

 

There are other events I’m thinking of attending. I’ve also opened this up as alternative assignment for students. Hoping to spark some STEM interest!! Speaking of STEM, I’m hoping to get some guest speakers in this spring. Looking into having someone from NC Astrophysics department, Neuse Riverkeeper and someone from nanotechnology. Figured I could have them in during the day or after school, which ever works best. We are on the last leg of the year, not much time left.

On another note we (when I mean we, I mean Angie Mechler) did a little extra taping of diffraction glasses. We used a color changing bulb and diffraction glasses for our light unit. We taped the results.

Credit owners of video if you use it!!

Feel free to use this as an educational piece. We had two pairs of glasses one that I received from NASA and the other you can get from any science warehouse. The difference between the two is  one type of glasses has vertical and horizontal grating, while the other only has one grating. Great teaching tool for light!

Finally, I got the news I’ve been waiting for, heading to Space Camp this summer. I got the the Honeywell Educators @ Space Academy Program. I’m totally excited about this! I also received news that I’ve been accepted to the NASA summer research program. I’m going to Langley to study atmospheric  science. So keep an eye on this blog, I’ll be tweeting, blogging and all sorts of stuff for the summer.

About rippie77

Science Teacher at Cardinal Gibbons High School, Raleigh NC.

Posted on April 13, 2012, in Labs, NASA, Space Camp, STEM, Teacher Workshop and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

