Summer Experience Continues

 

WeatherStation

 

After Space Academy, It took me a week to rest up from all the excitement. I still can’t believe I was given the opportunity to  experience space camp. But now I head to my next summer experience, NASA and atmospheric studies.  With the help of NASA explorer schools, I ‘m able to attend this summer opportunity. Here is the description of the workshop taken directly from NES:

“The Clouds and Earth’s Radiant Energy System or CERES instrument is part of NASA’s Earth Observing System, or EOS. Scientists use observations from the CERES instrument to study the energy exchanged between the Sun, the Earth’s atmosphere, surface and clouds, and outer space. Educators will join scientists and engineers in the Atmospheric Science Data Center to see how NASA receives data from the satellites and how the data is interpreted. Educators will investigate this data to understand causes of global climate change and also learn about classroom connections through three NASA education projects: Student Cloud Observations Online, or S’COOl; Mentoring and inquirY using NASA Data for Atmospheric and Earth science for Teachers and Amateurs, or MY NASA DATA; and The Global Learning and Observations to Benefit the Environment, or GLOBE project.”

I’ve already participated in S’COOL and think it’s a wonderful tool to use in class. Students were required to fill out cloud identification forms for their groups. After submitting them we talked about the identification and found the most precise one to submit to the SCOOL website. There was no right or wrong answer in this activity , just practice and learning about all the variables used for cloud identification. I combined this with our weather station at school and had students work on weather forecasting. I’m hoping to expand on this activity and create a more inquiry based lab.

In this summer experience I can’t wait to learn about the other NASA education projects available to teachers. I’m hoping to use some of them in class during the year. In the next couple of weeks I will be blogging about my experience and discussing the new class material I can introduce this year. I’m already excited about the new school year and the new things I have learned that I can bring to the classroom.

About rippie77

Science Teacher at Cardinal Gibbons High School, Raleigh NC.

Posted on July 9, 2012, in NASA, NASA explorers school, STEM, Teacher Workshop and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

