Say What? 5 Ways to Get Students to Listen | Edutopia

Say What? 5 Ways to Get Students to Listen | Edutopia. I like this article since I have this problem in class at times. I’m especially frustrated when I’m giving out instructions for a lab I have students not listening. And how do I know their not listening? I have students asking me two to three times about the instructions.

The ideas in this article sound really good. They say some of the ideas work great in “5th grade classroom”, I think they would work great in my class. “If kids are accustomed to hearing instructions twice, three times and even four times, listening the first time around becomes unnecessary.” This statement is definitely true. I know in my class anyway. “Ask three, then ask me” is going to be my new statement in class. I have no doubt these strategies have been used by other teachers and are nothing new. These activities would be an awesome team building activity at the beginning of the year. It would set the stage for the rest of the year.

Since I’m on break right now I will have to wait to try these strategies out. One of my colleagues suggested using these strategies with our whiteboard activities ( great idea Angie). I think we need to teach the proper techniques for listening and communicating in class. I know it will help them in future. How I know this is because during my summer experiences all I heard about was collaboration and communication. Communication includes listening.

#bcChallenge #6..still have a long way to go.

About rippie77

Science Teacher at Cardinal Gibbons High School, Raleigh NC.

Posted on February 18, 2014, in Class Ideas, Modeling/Whiteboarding, Teacher Ideas, Teacher Strategies. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

