5 Ways to Launch Your Genius Hour Projects to the World – A.J. JULIANI

In the past couple of weeks, I’ve been asked the same question multiple times after speaking, “Do you still believe Genius Hour and 20% Projects are the best way to engage students?” My initial response was to shout YES, without really thinking about my answer. But, as someone who ran the 20% Project with my students, …

Source: 5 Ways to Launch Your Genius Hour Projects to the World – A.J. JULIANI

I really like this and probably will use this next time. I have already implemented the project. I did narrow their focus a bit, and kept their projects on STEM Topics. Students did do a Brainstorming session to see what they might want to do outside the STEM topic area. When reviewing their Brainstorming papers most of them did pick subjects they were curious about. I did tell students I didn’t want them becoming bored with their topic, I wanted them to honestly be interested in what they are doing.  I’ll continue to update my blog with posts about the project and how its going. I do like the “Launch Cycle”, and hope to use in the future.

About rippie77

Science Teacher at Cardinal Gibbons High School, Raleigh NC.

Posted on February 19, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

